“Siddens Bening Hands Free Law” NOW In Effect

Multiple new laws went into effect Monday, August 28th.

One law that effects everyone driving on Missouri roadways, is the “Siddens Bening Hands-Free Law” which prohibits all drivers from using a handheld electronic communication device. This law is currently effective, as of Monday, August 28th.

According to the Missouri State Highway Patrol and per Senate Bill 398, all drivers on Missouri roadways shall not:

  1. Hold or support a cell phone or other wireless device while driving. Drivers can use Bluetooth or voice-activated features while driving.
  2. Manually type, write, send, or read any text-based communication on an electronic communication device.
  3. Watch, record, post, send, or broadcast a video or movie.

Penalties of disobeying the Siddens Bening Hands Free Law are as follows:

  • 1st Conviction – up to $150 fine
  • 2nd Conviction – up to $250 fine
  • 3rd Conviction – up to $500 fine

Drivers can face criminal charades for crashes that result in property damage, injury, or death.

For more information on the Hands-Free Law, CLICK HERE to read more from the Missouri Department of Transportation.

Scroll to Top